Guest Reviews


Memphis to New Orleans

All guest reviews on our website reflect the genuine, personal experiences and opinions of former American Queen Steamboat Company guests. These guests do not have a personal relationship with the company, nor have they received any form of incentive to submit a review.


5 Star = Excellent, 1 Star = Poor

Average Guest Rating ★★★★★

(22 Guest Reviews)

nicolas from AK gives this voyage ★★★★★

The river itself and the places visited each day

Overall Rating
★★★★★
Booking your cruise
★★★
Travel documents
★★★
Pre-hotel Accommodations
★★★
Cabin Accommodations
★★★
On-tour transportation
★★★★
Dining
★★
Onboard Entertainment
★★★
Guides
★★★★
Hop-on Hop-off included shore excursions
★★★★
Premium shore excursions
★★★
Value for the Money
★★

Date Traveled
November 07, 2015
Would you travel with us again
No

Charles from CT gives this voyage ★★★★★

The friendliness of the crew and the organization of the entire cruise

Overall Rating
★★★★★
Booking your cruise
★★★★★
Travel documents
★★★★★
Pre-hotel Accommodations
★★★★★
Cabin Accommodations
★★★★★
On-tour transportation
★★★★★
Dining
★★★★★
Onboard Entertainment
★★★★★
Guides
★★★★★
Hop-on Hop-off included shore excursions
★★★★★
Premium shore excursions
★★★★★
Value for the Money
★★★★★

Date Traveled
May 15, 2015
Would you travel with us again
Yes

Ellis from IL gives this voyage ★★★★★

We had an incredible time onboard the AQ during our 'Elvis' cruise from Memphis to New Orleans. Everything was top shelf - luxurious accommodations, fabulous dining, great tour options - all delivered with true southern hospitality.

Can't really think of anything we would change about the cruise, except we didn't want to see it end. We would have added on the New Orleans stay option, if we would have been able to take the extra vacation time.

Overall Rating
★★★★★
Booking your cruise
★★★★★
Travel documents
★★★★★
Pre-hotel Accommodations
★★★★★
Cabin Accommodations
★★★★★
On-tour transportation
★★★★★
Dining
★★★★★
Onboard Entertainment
★★★★★
Guides
★★★★★
Hop-on Hop-off included shore excursions
★★★★★
Premium shore excursions
★★★★★
Value for the Money
★★★★★

Date Traveled
December 05, 2015
Would you travel with us again
Yes

Elaine from AB gives this voyage ★★★★★

The boat was not too big so it made it more personal. Everything was excellent, accommodation, food, excursions, entertainment, staff.

There is nothing I would change.

Overall Rating
★★★★★
Booking your cruise
★★★★★
Travel documents
★★★★★
Pre-hotel Accommodations
★★★★★
Cabin Accommodations
★★★★★
On-tour transportation
★★★★★
Dining
★★★★★
Onboard Entertainment
★★★★★
Guides
★★★★★
Hop-on Hop-off included shore excursions
★★★★★
Premium shore excursions
★★★★★
Value for the Money
★★★★★

Date Traveled
December 05, 2015
Would you travel with us again
Yes

Glenda from AK gives this voyage ★★★★★

Absolutely everything from start to finish on this cruise impressed me.

I wouldn't change a thing. Would definitely holiday with this company again!!

Overall Rating
★★★★★
Booking your cruise
★★★★★
Travel documents
★★★★★
Pre-hotel Accommodations
★★★★★
Cabin Accommodations
★★★★★
On-tour transportation
★★★★★
Dining
★★★★★
Onboard Entertainment
★★★★★
Guides
★★★★★
Hop-on Hop-off included shore excursions
★★★★★
Premium shore excursions
★★★★★
Value for the Money
★★★★★

Date Traveled
November 07, 2015
Would you travel with us again
Yes

Sallie from CA gives this voyage ★★★★★

The boat,cabins,food, and especially the staff were excellent. The shore excursions were outstanding. The guides were experts on the history of each site.

Overall Rating
★★★★★
Booking your cruise
★★★★★
Travel documents
★★★★★
Pre-hotel Accommodations
★★★★★
Cabin Accommodations
★★★★★
On-tour transportation
★★★★★
Dining
★★★★★
Onboard Entertainment
★★★★★
Guides
★★★★★
Hop-on Hop-off included shore excursions
★★★★★
Premium shore excursions
★★★★★
Value for the Money
★★★★★

Date Traveled
December 19, 2015
Would you travel with us again
Yes

James from CA gives this voyage ★★★★★

I was instantly taken into the 1800s with the first step on the ship. Incredible attention to detail has been given, from the furniture, costumes of the staff, down to the brass keys for our staterooms.

Overall Rating
★★★★★
Booking your cruise
★★★★★
Travel documents
★★★★
Pre-hotel Accommodations
★★★★★
Cabin Accommodations
★★★★★
On-tour transportation
★★★★★
Dining
★★★★★
Onboard Entertainment
★★★★★
Guides
★★★★★
Hop-on Hop-off included shore excursions
★★★★★
Premium shore excursions
★★★★★
Value for the Money
★★★★★

Date Traveled
May 15, 2015
Would you travel with us again
Yes

Larry from CA gives this voyage ★★★★★

I had high expectations , and you exceeded them We had great meals, I loved the hop on hop off tours, Terrific service,we had perfect weather, and three nights in New Orleans.

Overall Rating
★★★★★
Booking your cruise
★★★★★
Travel documents
★★★★★
Pre-hotel Accommodations
★★★★★
Cabin Accommodations
★★★★★
On-tour transportation
★★★★★
Dining
★★★★★
Onboard Entertainment
★★★★★
Guides
★★★★★
Hop-on Hop-off included shore excursions
★★★★★
Premium shore excursions
★★★★★
Value for the Money
★★★★★

Date Traveled
March 06, 2016
Would you travel with us again
Yes

David from PA gives this voyage ★★★★★

Very Professional, Everything was just right.

Overall Rating
★★★★★
Booking your cruise
★★★★★
Travel documents
★★★★★
Pre-hotel Accommodations
★★★★
Cabin Accommodations
★★★★
On-tour transportation
★★★★★
Dining
★★★★★
Onboard Entertainment
★★★★★
Guides
★★★★★
Hop-on Hop-off included shore excursions
★★★★★
Premium shore excursions
★★★★★
Value for the Money
★★★★★

Date Traveled
March 20, 2016
Would you travel with us again
Yes

Timothy from CA gives this voyage ★★★★★

Cpt. Willits performed for my parents 50th anniversary: superb! 1st Purser Cassandra's logistics and attitude were exceptional. As the Chief Pilot for my airline, I complement you on your corporate culture in delivering this experience.

Overall Rating
★★★★★
Booking your cruise
★★★★★
Travel documents
★★★★★
Pre-hotel Accommodations
★★★★★
Cabin Accommodations
★★★★★
On-tour transportation
★★★★★
Dining
★★★★★
Onboard Entertainment
★★★★★
Guides
★★★★★
Hop-on Hop-off included shore excursions
★★★★★
Premium shore excursions
★★★★★
Value for the Money
★★★★★

Date Traveled
April 03, 2016
Would you travel with us again
Yes

Debbie from AK gives this voyage ★★★★★

I enjoyed the lectures on river history and the relaxed atmosphere

Overall Rating
★★★★★
Booking your cruise
★★★★★
Travel documents
★★★★★
Pre-hotel Accommodations
★★★★★
Cabin Accommodations
★★★★★
On-tour transportation
★★★★★
Dining
★★★★★
Onboard Entertainment
★★★★★
Guides
★★★★★
Hop-on Hop-off included shore excursions
★★★★★
Premium shore excursions
★★★★★
Value for the Money
★★★★★

Date Traveled
March 20, 2016
Would you travel with us again
Yes

Judi from CA gives this voyage ★★★★★

Captain Willits performed a ceremony for our 50th anniversary. It was a perfect evening, vows at sunset, champagne reception followed by dinner with the captain and our cabin was decorated as well. The AQ made me feel like I was Queen for a Day!

Overall Rating
★★★★★
Booking your cruise
★★★★
Travel documents
★★★★★
Pre-hotel Accommodations
★★★★★
Cabin Accommodations
★★★★★
On-tour transportation
★★★★★
Dining
★★★★★
Onboard Entertainment
★★★★★
Guides
★★★★★
Hop-on Hop-off included shore excursions
★★★★★
Premium shore excursions
★★★★★
Value for the Money
★★★★★

Date Traveled
April 03, 2016
Would you travel with us again
Yes

Robert from OK gives this voyage ★★★★★

Friendliness of the entire staff. Cleanliness of the entire vessel. Great information provided by the tour director during the cruise

Overall Rating
★★★★★
Booking your cruise
★★★★★
Travel documents
★★★★★
Pre-hotel Accommodations
★★★★★
Cabin Accommodations
★★★★★
On-tour transportation
★★★★★
Dining
★★★★★
Onboard Entertainment
★★★★★
Guides
★★★★★
Hop-on Hop-off included shore excursions
★★★★★
Premium shore excursions
★★★★★
Value for the Money
★★★★★

Date Traveled
April 17, 2016
Would you travel with us again
Yes

Anthony from AK gives this voyage ★★★★★

I have just completed 8 of the most memorable days on the American Queen ,from start to finish the trip was flawless with wonderful staff and crew,the food and entertainment were superb.

Overall Rating
★★★★★
Booking your cruise
★★★★★
Travel documents
★★★★★
Pre-hotel Accommodations
★★★★★
Cabin Accommodations
★★★★★
On-tour transportation
★★★★★
Dining
★★★★★
Onboard Entertainment
★★★★★
Guides
★★★★★
Hop-on Hop-off included shore excursions
★★★★★
Premium shore excursions
★★★★★
Value for the Money
★★★★★

Date Traveled
May 22, 2016
Would you travel with us again
Yes

Alice from FL gives this voyage ★★★★★

New experience and was totally impressed! Cruise, food, entertainment, crew, etc. was top-notch! My sister, Elsie Alexander, and I can't hardly wait for our next cruise!!!

Nothing...we loved all of it!

Overall Rating
★★★★★
Booking your cruise
★★★★★
Travel documents
★★★★★
Pre-hotel Accommodations
★★★★★
Cabin Accommodations
★★★★★
On-tour transportation
★★★★★
Dining
★★★★★
Onboard Entertainment
★★★★★
Guides
★★★★★
Hop-on Hop-off included shore excursions
★★★★★
Premium shore excursions
★★★★★
Value for the Money
★★★★★

Date Traveled
May 22, 2016
Would you travel with us again
Yes

Bill from TN gives this voyage ★★★★★

Wonderful accommodations: Great food; the best entertainment!

Overall Rating
★★★★★
Booking your cruise
★★★★★
Travel documents
★★★★★
Pre-hotel Accommodations
★★★★★
Cabin Accommodations
★★★★★
On-tour transportation
★★★★★
Dining
★★★★★
Onboard Entertainment
★★★★★
Guides
★★★★★
Hop-on Hop-off included shore excursions
★★★★★
Premium shore excursions
★★★★★
Value for the Money
★★★★★

Date Traveled
December 05, 2015
Would you travel with us again
Yes

Barbara from FL gives this voyage ★★★

Small venue, booking the cruise and getting the documents was easy. However I was getting a good deal for a suite around the paddle wheel talked out of it by an agent, I regret not getting the room and paying the extra for such a small cabin.

Overall Rating
★★★
Booking your cruise
★★★★★
Travel documents
★★★★★
Pre-hotel Accommodations
★★
Cabin Accommodations
★★★
On-tour transportation
★★
Dining
★★
Onboard Entertainment
★★★★
Guides
★★★★★
Hop-on Hop-off included shore excursions
★★★
Premium shore excursions
★★★
Value for the Money
★★★★

Date Traveled
December 25, 2016
Would you travel with us again
Yes

Jeanne from IL gives this voyage ★★★★★

The decor, the crew, the food, the entertainment. As soon as we boarded, I felt like I had gone back in time. Everything was beautiful and very clean The entertainment was really very good and the Riverlorian was exceptional.

Overall Rating
★★★★★
Booking your cruise
★★★★★
Travel documents
★★★★★
Pre-hotel Accommodations
★★★★★
Cabin Accommodations
★★★★★
On-tour transportation
★★★★★
Dining
★★★★★
Onboard Entertainment
★★★★★
Guides
★★★★★
Hop-on Hop-off included shore excursions
★★★★★
Premium shore excursions
★★★★★
Value for the Money
★★★★★

Date Traveled
April 03, 2016
Would you travel with us again
Yes

Kathryn from PA gives this voyage ★★★★★

Everything was fabulous, food, entertainment, tours, stops. I had the best time in years. Especially loved the Captain's bar entertainer, Phil Westbrook.

Overall Rating
★★★★★
Booking your cruise
★★★★★
Travel documents
★★★★★
Pre-hotel Accommodations
★★★★★
Cabin Accommodations
★★★★★
On-tour transportation
★★★★★
Dining
★★★★
Onboard Entertainment
★★★★★
Guides
★★★★★
Hop-on Hop-off included shore excursions
★★★★★
Premium shore excursions
★★★★★
Value for the Money
★★★

Date Traveled
December 11, 2016
Would you travel with us again
Yes

John from BC gives this voyage ★★★★★

Overall Rating
★★★★★
Booking your cruise
★★★★
Travel documents
★★★★★
Pre-hotel Accommodations
★★★★
Cabin Accommodations
★★★
On-tour transportation
★★★★★
Dining
★★★★
Onboard Entertainment
★★★★★
Guides
★★★★★
Hop-on Hop-off included shore excursions
★★★★★
Premium shore excursions
Value for the Money
★★★

Date Traveled
April 09, 2017
Would you travel with us again
Yes

Rosemary from CA gives this voyage ★★★★★

The food and everyone was so friendly

Overall Rating
★★★★★
Booking your cruise
★★★★★
Travel documents
★★★★★
Pre-hotel Accommodations
★★★★★
Cabin Accommodations
★★★★★
On-tour transportation
★★★★★
Dining
★★★★
Onboard Entertainment
★★★★
Guides
★★★★★
Hop-on Hop-off included shore excursions
★★★★★
Premium shore excursions
★★★★★
Value for the Money
★★★★★

Date Traveled
April 09, 2017
Would you travel with us again
Yes

Paula from MI gives this voyage ★★★★★

We were impressed by everything-the food, staff, entertainment, excursions, etc. First river boat cruise but not our last. Looking to book the American Empress on the Columbia and Snake Rivers cruise.

Overall Rating
★★★★★
Booking your cruise
★★★★★
Travel documents
★★★★★
Pre-hotel Accommodations
★★★★★
Cabin Accommodations
★★★★★
On-tour transportation
★★★★★
Dining
★★★★★
Onboard Entertainment
★★★★★
Guides
★★★★★
Hop-on Hop-off included shore excursions
★★★★★
Premium shore excursions
★★★★★
Value for the Money
★★★★★

Date Traveled
May 07, 2017
Would you travel with us again
Yes

Additional Sailing Dates

Mississippi and Columbia River Cruise Guest Reviews


Read what our guests have to say about American Queen Steamboat Company’s river cruises down the Mississippi, Columbia and other American rivers. The reviews on this page are genuine and from verified guests who have traveled with us. Guests are not paid or rewarded for reviews, ensuring their honest feedback. Search for feedback for a specific river cruise, or leave your own review below!